WELSH ATHLETICS LTD

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Annual General Meeting held online via GoToWebinar at 11am on Saturday 24th October 2020

Present:

Company Members of Welsh Athletics Ltd

Steve Perks Board Member (Chair)

Bernie Plain Board Member Nick Everitt Board Member Adrian Thomas Board Member

Sue Alvey Board Member – Chair General Council

Tom Overton
Helen Adams
Dr Nicky Lewis
Lynette Harries
Board Member
Board Member
Honorary President

Joyce Tomala East Wales Regional Council

Mark Gold Cardiff Athletics

Elizabeth Rowland Pembrokeshire Harriers

Jamie Clode Secretary General Council

Fred Malkin Barry & Vale Harriers

Peter Sowerby Brecon AC

Simon Williamson Penarth & Dinas Runners

Gareth Oldham Welsh Schools Athletic Association

Crispin Backshall Colwyn Bay AC

Geraint Jenkins Amman Valley Harriers

Jennifer Aylward Celtic Tri

Steve Hames Neath Harriers
Bernard Henderson Port Talbot Harriers
Ian Griffiths Swansea Harriers
Alun Currie Life Member

Alexis Barrett Ogmore Phoenix Runners
Chris O'Brien Fairwater Runners Cwmbran

Arwel Lewis Eryri

Jacqueline Brace Bridgend AC
Alison Werner Newport Harriers

Welsh Athletics Ltd AGM 2020

Robert Campion Llanelli AC

Kay Hatton North Wales Road Runners, NWRC

Nigel Holmes Cybi Striders

Also present

James Williams Chief Executive Officer Robert Sage Head of Corporate Services

Bethan Davies Welsh Athletics
Barry Edwards Welsh Athletics
Chris Jones Welsh Athletics
Fyn Corcoran Welsh Athletics
Christopher Moss Welsh Athletics

Phil Jones
Stuart Penny
Lynne Brier
Emma MacArthur
David Thomas
Dic Evans
Sue Campion
Sue Hooper
Michael Robert
Bernie Jones
Christine Vorres
Pete Morris
Kerry Chown
Christopher Pruski

i President's welcome

The President (LH) welcomed everyone to the AGM of Welsh Athletics Ltd. As part of her welcome, the President acknowledged the fantastic job that James Williams, CEO, and his staff team have done to sustain and to protect the interests of all the disciplines within the sport as we've all had to adapt to the challenges of COVID. LH also expressed how encouraging it had been to see Regional Councils and the Community as a whole adapt and embrace the use of new technology to continue meeting and her hope is that the we can begin to look forward to the future.

LH asked the room to respect a minute's silence to remember those members who have passed away over the past 12 months;

 Ron Odunaiya, Averil Williams, David Alun Williams, Linda Cushing, & Audrey Bright

and former Welsh Athletes;

• Liz Johns, Greg Ashcroft, Steve Blakemore, Phil Ramsey and Rhian Taylor (nee James).

ii Apologies for absence

Matt Ward, John Penny, Tony Clements, Melanie Westlake

iii Minutes of the 2019 AGM

The minutes were unanimously accepted as an accurate record.

iv Matters arising

There were no matters arising.

ITEMS OF ORDINARY BUSINESS

1 Appointment of Scrutineers

1.1 Rob Sage and Bethan Davies, both non vote holders, were appointed scrutineers

2 Report of the Board of Directors

- 2.1 The Chair welcomed everyone, stated his thanks to all for attending, and echoed LH's words regarding former board member Ron Odunaiya.
- 2.2 The Chair invited James Williams, CEO, to present his report on behalf of the Board.
- 2.3 The report of the Board of Directors was accepted unanimously.

3 Financial Report, Accounts and Audit Findings

- 3.1. Nick Everitt, Non-Executive Director Finance, gave an overview of the annual accounts.
- 3.2. The annual accounts to March 2020 and a full audit report had been distributed ahead of the AGM. As had been agreed previously a full annual audit had been conducted.

3.3. The financial report and accounts were accepted

4 General Council Report

- 4.1 The report was included in the Annual Report. SA stated her concern that not all Regional Councils are present at GC meetings, and that this is impacting on communication of information out to the sport.
- 4.2 The General Council Report was accepted.

5 Appointment of Accountants

5.1 It was agreed to continue with O'Brien and Partners.

6 Appointment of Patrons

- 6.1. Lynn Davies CBE was re-appointed as Patron of the company.
- 6.2. The Chair stated that discussions were ongoing in regard to the appointment of further patrons, and that he and the CEO would welcome suggestions from Members and the community of suitable individuals to be considered for the role.

7 To appoint the following positions

- 7.1 Sue Alvey was appointed to the position of Chair of General Council
- 7.2 Jamie Clode was appointed to the position of Secretary of General Council
- 7.3 The role of Secretary to the Endurance Officials Committee was unfilled.

8 Appointment of Delegates to organisations on which the Company is entitled to be represented

- 8.1 Delegate to the Commonwealth Games Council for Wales Executive Committee Chris Jones
- 8.2 Delegates (3) to the Commonwealth Games Council Steve Perks, James Williams, Chris Jones
- 8.3 Delegate to the Welsh Sports Association James Williams
- 8.4 Approved en bloc

9 Determination of Annual Registration and Affiliation Fees (2020/2021)

9.1 JW voiced a proposal to suspend the planned increase in the Athlete Registration Fee agreed at last year's AGM in light of the COVID situation.

Jamie Clode raised a question from the floor regarding the revenue loss to the organisation resulting from this proposal. JW stated that this reduction had been budgeted for in the forecasts for the current financial year. There were no objections raised to this proposal.

9.2 The proposal to continue with both the Club and Athlete registration fees at their current level was approved.

10 Consideration of the Report of the Service Awards Panel

10.1 To receive and accept the recommendations for Life Membership of Welsh Athletics, the following were recommended by members of the Panel:

Joyce Tomala (East Regional Council)

10.2 To receive and accept the recommendations for the Meritorious Award. In the absence of any external nominations to the Panel, the following were recommended by members of the Panel:

Lynne Brier (Swansea Harriers)
Marc Hobbs (Swansea Harriers)
Andrew Jenkins (Swansea Harriers)
Sharon Leech (Swansea Harriers)
Christopher Price (Cwmbran Harriers)
Kevin Tobin (Swansea Harriers)

10.3 To receive and accept the recommendations for the Award of honour. The following were recommended:

Jeff Aston (Les Croupiers RC)
Dic Evans (Cardiff Athletics)
Kevin Evans MBE (Carmarthen Harriers)
Rob Hooper (Cardiff Athletics)
Sue Hooper (Cardiff Athletics)
David Jones (Swansea Harriers)
Dorrien Thomas (Carmarthen Harriers)

10.4 To receive and accept the recommendations for the Athlete Achievement Award;

Steve Brace (Bridgend AC)
Neil Horsefield (Newport AC)
Catherine Murphy (Woodford Green & Essex Ladies)
Sarah Moore (Bristol AC)
Hilary Thomas (Sale Harriers)

10.5 All the above were approved.

Items of Special Business

11 Notices of Motion

- 11.1. Addition of three Athlete Advisory Groups into the Byelaws Junior Athlete Voice, Senior Athlete Advisory Group, and Masters Athlete Advisory Group, and removal of the Run Wales Advisory Group
- 11.2. Updated Terms of Reference for Regional councils 7.1 -7.7
- 11.3. Further amendments to the Byelaws of Welsh Athletics were acknowledged as changes that were largely cosmetic.

11.4. The motion was passed with unanimous vote

12 Date and venue of 2021 General Meeting

23rd October 2021 was the provisional date. Feedback from attendees was requested in regard to the format for the meeting – a hybrid format of both face to face and online meeting is to be considered, but this to be confirmed by the Board

THE ABOVE MINUTES ARE PROVISIONAL AND SUBJECT TO CONFIRMATION AT THE NEXT ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING.